cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switched from 3G plan to 4G and internet speed is much slower

JeffB155
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I've been using the $15/month 3G plan for two years. I thought i'd switch to the $40/month 4G plan to see how it runs, and the internet is about 10 times slower. If I run speedtest I only get 2mbps download. 

For those using 4G, what kind of download speed do you get when running speedtest? Because for me the internet is basically unusable where I was actually happier with the much cheaper 3G service plan. 

8 REPLIES 8

DDM69
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

@JeffB155 

It will get better...much better 😁

hi @JeffB155   i think you need to wait 48 hours

hi @DDM69 , it works for you, because you waited 48 hours  🙂

DDM69
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

@JeffB155 

I just checked mine now…

IMG_6261.jpeg

JeffB155

My phone is Samsung Galaxy A53 5G which is a 2022 model so very new.

Under Access Point Names there are two options:
Mobile Internet
sp.mb.com

Tethered Mobile Internet
isp.mb.com

It's selected the first. I don't see an options to update APS but I can add a new APS manually.

@JeffB155   because of the plan change today, the new speed actuallly won't take in effect until 48 hours after the plan change, so 2 more days to wait  😞

Please follow the troubleshooting steps I mentioned above 2 days later .. if the speed is still not good

JeffB155

I requested the plan change about 10 days ago and it just went into effect today because the billing cycle starts on the 16th for me. 

Also when I go to mobile networks these are my choices:
5G/LTE/WCDMA/GSM
LTE/WCDMA/GSM <---- it auto-chose this one
WCDMA/GSM
WCDMA only
GSM only

And this is using the speedtest app:

Screenshot_20230516_184341_Speedtest.jpg

hTideGnow
Mayor / Maire

HI @JeffB155 

usually you should not have the speed downgrade like this

what kind of phone you have?