cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Money back on recurring bill payements

TheSterlinger
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

I've been paying my public mobile service for the past 5 years on the same card and I'm suppose to be getting 2% cash back for recurring bill payements. I have auto-pay on, its billed on the same date each month. I called my bank and they said that it was on Public Mobile; I've been charged at lower percentage than the 2% for the recurring bill payements. They have indicated that Public Mobile needs to fix their merchant category code as the system is not recognizing it as a recurring payement even though its being billed each month on the same day. This has been going on for 5 years now. Does anyone know how to fix this problem? I have other recurring bill payements with other companies being billed to the same card each month and I don't have this problem, I'm getting the full 2% back.

7 REPLIES 7

ottawa
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

Here's a thread I started yesterday (?) asking about the same topic. https://productioncommunity.publicmobile.ca/t5/Get-Support/Do-PM-subscription-charges-go-through-CC-...

My CC is 3% on recurring (& gas & groceries) and 1% default. My PM went through at 1% (years ago) so I switched to a different card that gives me 1.5% on everything. I have on occasion bought a PM top-up voucher at Loblaws or wherever (to get 3% as groceries) but it's more work and I decided not worth it for only an extra 1.5%. In the other thread, someone mentioned a card that gives 5% at 7-11, now THAT might be worth buying a voucher (especially with the newish "instant top-up"). See other thread for details.