cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting my number issue

JagRan
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi all,

I am new to Public Mobile and was previously using Rogers as my primary provider. I still have a Rogers account with the phone number I have been using for years which I want to keep but I also want to keep my Rogers account active as a secondary number because its a very sweet deal, just not enough data (hence the Public account I opened). If I port my number that is with Rogers to Public, it will close my Rogers account. I asked Rogers if there is a workaround but apparently not. They say the only option is that they can change my number to another one and the number I have had for years goes 'back in the pool'.

My question is, can Public Mobile fish out that number from the pool for me to then have as my primary number with Public Mobile?

I hope the above makes sense.

10 REPLIES 10

JagRan

@BKNS27 

Yes, I could easily port my number from Rogers but the issue is that it will cancel my account and plan with Rogers which was a great promotional deal of Canada-US unlimited minutes and texts and 6GB data for $16 a month.

BKNS27
Mayor / Maire

@JagRan 

You can check which carrier your number belongs to:

https://www.carrierlookup.com/ 

Normally what happens is your number will be returned to the carrier you originally got the number from. Once it is returned back to the carrier, it will be put on hold for 90 days before it is released by that carrier for new members who wants that number.

So very slim that you will get it back so why not port it over to PM and get a new number from Rogers?

Or you could be a tad underhanded and open a new account at Rogers "for your kid" but that the kid really likes your number and so maybe they would give your account the new number and move your number to "the kids" account. Then "the kid" misbehaved and you port the number out as a punishment. To your Public account.

@JagRan wrote: