cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cellular data although cellular data for phone and apps are turned off

consulting
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I am new to Public Mobile and did not see this on the thread yet.

I looked at my profile and it said I have used a little bit of my cellular data although I have it turned off for each app individually and for the phone over all (separate setting) on the iPhone SE 1st Gen.

Not a big deal because I have 5G of data available. I think maybe it is related to my text messages? My daughter sent me an image in my text - is it because it was an MMS vs SMS?

so that means if you run out of data you can not send/receive MMS messages? SMS usually is the unlimited txt. MMS is video and images in a text message where as SMS is text only.

thanks

chris

15 REPLIES 15

consulting

many thanks for the DETAILED response! and the links... very helpful and a great summary.
nice job!

@consulting 

You might this article helpful for tracking data usage by iMessage......but the biggest take away would be to ensure that you set the iPhone to choose SMS/MMS to send most messages but especially photos/videos ( up to 5mb). Tiktok is the bane of any parent's wallet if you have overage charges (which don't exist at pm).

You can involve your daughter in monitoring data usage and enable an iPhone's equivalent to Android's data warning and limiter. On my phone(s) with a 250mb of plan data I usually set it at 25% (warning) and 50%(limiter) so that I can be made aware of high data usage ( usually an app with video content) and if it does go unnoticed that data will just stop before it uses up all my plan data and/or I get the pm data usage warning texts sent at 75% and 95% of data used.