cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie needs info on what phone to get

dspanner
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hi. I want to buy my first smartphone, preferably a 4G/LTE. When I look on this site re compatibility, it prompts me to enter the IMEI #. The problem is that I don't yet have a phone, so I don't know the #. I'm interested in the Samsung Galaxy J2 Prime...or any phone anyone reading this might recommend that is under $200 and compatible with Public Mobile. Thanks so much!!! 

16 REPLIES 16

bridonca
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

All new prepaid phones, by law, are sold unlocked.  This phone will work with Public Mobile.   I have tested this personally.  You will need to add Public Mobile APN settings to get data working, but after that, you are good to go.

@dspanner wrote:

I apologize. I was confused that PC Mobile showed the Public brand but the Mobile Shop which is affiliated did not. I'm very new to cellphones as I have (till now) steadfastly refused to consider using one, so all of the lingo is quite new to me. Again, sorry. I'll do more homework before posting next time. I do not wish to be a bother to this community and I appreciate all the responses.

@dspannerYou are not bothering us as @surreyboz makes it seem. You are allowed to ask for help from more than 1 location. Just because you asked us for an opinion doesn't mean you can't ask someone else too. The fact that you have asked multiple people is doing more homework in my eyes. Keep all possibilities open so you can make an informed decision and I personally hope to see you post more in the future, Let us know if you have any more questions.