cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to public mobile and Canada

nzonuz
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hello,

I am new to Canada and trying to get my bank account stablished then apply for a credit card. 

I need a phone number to do all of the above.

To get my public mobile sim card activated  I need a Canadian credit card. 

This is an impossible  to solve an equation. 

Please help me!

Note I already have my sim card in my phone and trying desperately  to activate it. 

6 REPLIES 6

softech
Oracle
Oracle

@nzonuz  Don't worry about the credit card.    Public Mobile accepts payment voucher for activation as well

Go to Shoppers Drug Mart or Shell to get a payment voucher (these 2 places are good for vouchers as their voucher can be used immediately.  Voucher from some other stores might need to wait 24 hours).    Then in Step 4 of the Activation, click Pay with Voucher to activate.  That is your best and easier choice at the moment:

E-Activation-Step4_Codes

I was just looking at the activation page and I showed using a voucher. You can buy them locally for cash. That should get you going. Once you get a a credit card or debit card....then set it up for autopay and receive the bonus data. Will post pic in a minute. 

Screen Shot 2022-02-10 at 3.42.23 PM.png

Dunkman
Oracle
Oracle

@nzonuz 

You could also try the website recharge.com to purchase a payment voucher online.  There is a service fee applied.  

You can purchase various payment vouchers in store at different stores, include gas stations, Walmart, Superstore,  London Drugs, etc.

https://publicmobile.ca/en/ab/get-help/articles/pay-for-your-services-in-retail

BKNS27
Mayor / Maire

@nzonuz 

Welcome to Canada and PM! Eh

You will need to open a bank account in your area and as noted by @HALIMACS & @Meow to get a debit card to make payment on PM.

Meow
Mayor / Maire

To get a credit card for newcomer is kind of complicated as you have no credit history here.