cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a plan lower than 15 dollars per month?

aarishlakhani2
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hi,

I am an international student and I am visiting my home country for the next 4 months. I don't want to lose my current phone number and I have selected the minimum 15 dollar per month plan while I am not in Canada. However, I wanted to know if there is a special plan lower than this amount as I am not using a single minute of my plan. I have a friend using fido and he said they have a 5 dollar plan to keep their phone number when they are not in the country. Is there a similar service for public too?

Thank you

6 REPLIES 6

treefrog
Town Hero / Héro de la Ville

@aarishlakhani2 

I suspend my service all the time for two or three months (no more than 88 days max) at a time by using lost/stolen when I am away for work and use the Rogers work phone instead.

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@aarishlakhani2 

Here are the options for your pm service while you are away.....

Spoiler
  1. You can turn off autopay and allow the account to suspend at the of your current 30 day cycle but this is your least advantageous option. Pay and reactivate by day 85 or so.
  2. If you have an account balance that exceeds your plan amount then you need to suspend via the lost/stolen feature in your account before midnight eastern on the evening of your renewal. Then on day 85 or so resume your service to pay and reactivate.
  3. Suspending via lost/stolen before midnight eastern will keep your voicemail active allowing you retrieve voicemail and any verification sent by phone calls. However your rewards will not be applied to your account. Moderator/CSA contact after paying and reactivating is necessary to have the rewards applied manually.
  4. Voicemail can be accessed by calling your pm number from a different phone by calling your phone # and pressing * once connected and entering your 4 digit voicemail pin #.