cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is more data really worth it?

Nathan_Pjmans01
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

So far with all of the new Black Friday deals, it looks tempting to switch to a higher subscription for more data and I have been considering it. However, is, let's say 20GB really worth it? I'm currently a university student and I don't really go out that much, but I'm wondering if I'm skipping out on a great deal with the 34$ sale that's going on right now. 

11 REPLIES 11

ottawa
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@Nathan_Pjmans01 depends how much you use and what you're paying now. If you're on $25/1GB, are okay with the speed, and never go over 1GB, moving to $34/40GB is not going to give you anything but it's going to cost $108/yr+tax.

I'm on $25/1GB@3G speed and it's fine for me (both quantity and speed), I'm on WiFi most of the time and almost never go over (and I have several never-expire ancient data add-ons to tap into). I would not be interested in $34/40GB, though I do have a change booked on my next renewal to a $29 plan (no longer offered for existing customers). Even that is hurting to do, because I'll be spending an extra $48/yr+tax and not getting anything I actually need. But I can't argue with $4/mo, and if 1 month I go way over 1GB (say my WiFi goes down) it will have been worth it. But not $9/mo for me. 🙂

That said, if you're not on the $15 or $25 plan, you're probably paying more than $34/mo so it will be a price break for you.

Andy85
Town Hero / Héro de la Ville

@Nathan_Pjmans01 it comes down to what is more important to you at this point in your life... Saving money or having more data?