cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Being Cautious: Account transfer, can someone take over my account without my permission?

Jennz
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello,

A person transferred their account to me, they had the special 38$ plan. All we did was login to the account then change the profile and all passwords + username and credit info

Is it possible they can takeover the account by porting the number out? they had access to the account before and they know my account number. They agreed to keep the same number with me since it is a new #

I am just being over cautious since I am not tech savvy.

Jennz

12 REPLIES 12

Jennz

Thanks everyone! amazing community

computergeek541, my concern was if the person wants their phone number back, they can sell it out with a good plan then get paid and run with the money and phone number, yes I will change my phone number in case this happens.

Appreciated

Yes, someone could easily port out your phone number without your permission if they have both your phone number and account number.  Although Public asks for an authorization name when porting a number in, not all carriers do, and based on the information provided by the CWTA, just the account number alone is enough to fully transfer a phone number over.

I really can't see why someone would do that, as a stolen or mistakenly ported out phone number can be reversed.  It  would likely be some type of practical joke by someone who dislikes you or is in an argument with you.  Like I said, why would someone waste his or her time?

Glad we could help you @Jennz anymore questions and there is a great community here to help you when we can

I am happy to help, but I am not a Customer Support Agent please do not include any personal info in a message to me. Click HERE to create a trouble ticket through SIMon the Chatbot *

imm1304
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

You're welcome @Jennz.