cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

how many bands must match new phone

irish416
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

how many bands must match when buying a phone? willmyphonework says its compatible with some..i was looking to buy http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=30_415&item_id=114423

LTE B1/3/4/5/7/8/20/38/40,CAT.6 ; WCDMA B1/B2/B5/B8 ; GSM B2/B3/B5/B8 . will i get LTE coverage in toronto with only a couple matching bands.

sorry for the probably stupid questions, as this is my first time buying a phone, that i didnt purchase from my cell company . thanks for your time and help

10 REPLIES 10

sheytoon
Mayor / Maire

@markjohn00 if your info about India is accurate, you'll be fine with B3 and B5.

B40 is TDD midband, unlikely to cause coverage problems.

markjohn00

@slusagm 

It seems that they share one band B1 (2100)...I wonder if thats enough

slusagm
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

and how about 3G? it would be nice to have 3G as backup

markjohn00

@slusagm 

Hey thanks for the reply...

According to this. It seems that there are only 3 bands for the 4G network (which is the only one that matters really)

The phone that I am thinking to get is a US model and ya as mentioned seemed to have 2 of the bands. I have read that phones can use several bands at once, so more the better. My fear is, that without having all the bands that it will make connectivity an issue...Though Im not sure on this

https://www.datareign.com/4g-circles-in-india/

slusagm

@markjohn00 just trying to help althought I don't know much about the network used in India

are there only 3 bands needed for India or more? if just 3 , then you got 2 out of 3 , would be good  But if more , then probably not.  PM used around 8 bands (forgot the exact number), and 2 compatible bands definitely not enough here

markjohn00

sheytoon

Forgive me highjacking this thread...