cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unsure what my usage history is telling me.

BullDogPup
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I'm new to Public Mobile and haven't used my phone in weeks.  When I checked my usage history for the first time, it shows my phone in use almost daily.  Mostly it shows the usage as "WEB" but there are a few outgoing to one number I know I didn't call and don't recognise.  Is this something to do with the service or should I be concerned?

Capture.PNG

Any information would be appreciated!

16 REPLIES 16

Anonymous
Not applicable

@wetcoaster wrote:

Duh, I have a SIM that last was on the $10 plan without data (right now it's suspended)... at least for me, the 0MB data events only show up if the SIM is actually in a phone that is turned on. So, it might me the phone / OS / apps trying to access data. (And/or determine position via cell tower triangulation? I have the location feature turned off on my phone, but....)

So even just the phone *wanting* to do something with data, the service saying "well no you don't have data" that the service is recording that as some kind of data hit in the logs. Would this happen even with data off?

Interesting.

@Anonymous wrote:

@wetcoaster wrote:

@Anonymous 

Do you have data (plan or add-on)? I wonder if the data usage can be replicated by someone on a "talk only, without data" plan. Since those events are all (with one exeption) 0MB, it might just be the way the system is tallying things up once a day. If @BullDogPup doesn't have data on their plan or a data add-on their phone doesn't have access to data and they will not incour any cost from these data events.

I'm on the $10 plan. I also have the 200mb add-on. So I can't replicate that for you. Good idea though. But, of course, as we all know, this is a prepaid system. There won't be charges for anything you don't pay for.

So yes it would be interesting to know exactly which plan the parents phone is on.