cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting out of Public Mobile

alamgir99
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello

I have initiated a port-out my number out of Public Mobile to Lucky. My expectation was that I'd receive an email or SMS to authorize that. I did receive an email but it reads the opposite: PM thinks I'm porting into PM. There is nothing on Lucky's end  that I redo or recheck. Can anyone offer some advise please. Thanks.

Screen Shot 2022-12-22 at 6.49.13 PM.png

11 REPLIES 11

alamgir99

I trust tech more and more 🙂
The convenience outweighs the risk.

alamgir99

Hi

As you pointed out, we all have slightly different needs. I have a Mint subscription as I work cross-border. PM has been a bit pain: every time I cross the border I get like 20 marketing texts. So, if lucky does not support roaming that is even better for me 😄

Thanks.

Hi @alamgir99 I guess different people have different needs.  Only Lucky mobile has eSIM support within Tier 3 at the moment and you have gone to the proper one for your need.  Just an FYI, Lucky does not provide any roaming at all, not even US

Pawprints1986
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

Wouldn't esim be more vulnerable to fraud? Can't people "steal" it easier vs the  physical object?

alamgir99

Thanks Hollister

I called them up, and the person was able to cancel the existing one, and initiate a new. Within moment I had the text message to authorize the porting 🙂

alamgir99

Data quota is not the most important thing for me. I just need a Canadian number to make/receive calls. The reason I decided to move out is this:

I went to a short vacation and had to swap out the PM SIM. On return I could not find the SIM any more. I thought it would be an easy thing- just buy a SIM and update the profile. I spent hours after hours today browsing all 7/11 and small cellphone stores- no one has a PM SIM. I had ordered one yesterday- it wouldn't come to me until January 8 🙂