cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accidentally closed my account while porting numbers

aprameya
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi everyone,

I have been using Public Mobile for a couple of months (in my first 90 day term). When I signed up, I ported over my work number because I was changing jobs. I like to keep my personal and work numbers separate, and now ported the number over to my new workplace.

At the same time as I ported my number from Public Mobile to Bell (work carrier), I also tried to request a new number on Public Mobile so I can continue using my account. However, I wasn't able to complete my request and have since been locked out of my account.

I have two specific questions:

1) Will I be able to use my current Public Mobile sim card with a new number?

2) Will I be able to continue using the plan that I paid for (I was ~45 days into a 90 day plan) with this new number?

Please let me know how to proceed. Thank you.

5 REPLIES 5

The closing of your account was not accidental.  That is supposed to happen, and Public Mobile has no choice but to close your account when you port out your number.  Your sim card cannot be reused.  You will need a new sim card to get a number Public Mobile phone number.  As to whether or not you can get your old plan back (if it is no longer offered) or any credit for any of the time that you didn't use, the general answer is no, and that you have forfeited any of that when you ported out.  If the moderators choose to do either of those for you under a new account, it will be as a goodwill gesture, but your old account is actually gone and you can't get it back.