cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

US Roaminig - Unlimited International Text $8 for 10 days.

Bottomshelf
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

Hi Community,

I'm a recent Public Mobile customer and have the $15 plan - 100 minutes and unlimited texting.  I am using an iPhone 6.

I am thinking of getting the unlimited text for $8.

Just want to confirm I'm doing the right thing as I have never used roaming before.

• If I have cellular data on (green button), do I leave cellular data options "Roaming Off" or On?  That is, for texting to work, what should the cellular settings be?
  • If cellular data is "on" will it also be consuming data in the US?
  • I read somewhere I need to turn off iMessage in settings? 
  • What do I need to do if I want to use iMessage AND Whats App?

Thanks for your help.

I

7 REPLIES 7

TheOldVR
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

Are you on the plan that qualifies for 250MB of free data?

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Bottomshelf wrote:

"I thought I read somewhere that the iMessage app has to be turned off in order for texting to work otherwise by default it would try to use iMessage. Can you confirm either way? Turn off iMessage anyway?"

I found answer to the above question here:

https://productioncommunity.publicmobile.ca/t5/Getting-Started/US-Roaming-Text-Only/td-p/334156/page...

I was probably not fully aware of (and probably still not) of all things Apple. I'm somewhat sure that iMessage can still be used with a setting in it set to SMS.

This is the better answer in that thread. @RobertQc

To your other post:

iMessage needs the internet for its own needs but it can do SMS

SMS only - not MMS except those other apps

add-on choice - that's up to you. You're answering it yourself with what you say you're planning to do so why get the other kinds. Unless you think you might make calls. Unless you think would want to use mobile data rather than fixed wifi.

Bottomshelf