cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone suggestion

DemiLiard
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello. I am new to the mobile phone world and would like a phone suggestion. I have a 250$ budget and no idea which phone to get despite doing some research.

Any help would be appreciated.

I was going to try getting one through Orchard since that seemed like the simplest thing to do but it doesn't seem like that great a deal. The Samsung S3 for 235$ refurbished on Orchard is 300$ new on amazon plus it was released in 2012 so I'm assuming there are much better options.

35 REPLIES 35

Tamar_S
Retraité / Retired
Retraité / Retired

hello @DemiLiard

If you do not have a Pin number, I will suggest you to send an account number instead.

Thanks!

DemiLiard

Yes, I activated my Public Mobile SIM card. It's working great. I'm currently trying to port a residential number from Videotron but am having trouble, e-mailing back and forth. Public Mobile told me they needed a 4-digit PIN from Videotron which I had never heard of and the person I talked to at Videotron said there isn't any PIN required to port a number.

@DemiLiard Did you activate your new SIM yet? How was your experience? Did you port a number over? If so, from what carrier?

DemiLiard

Got my sim card yesterday. In the end I bought a Samsung Grand Prime for 170$ at BestBuyMobile. It was a one-day special. It was a Telus pre-paid phone so I knew it would work. So far I'm totally satisfied with it. Bought a case and ordered a 64gb SD card to go with it.

Thanks for all the advice!

philroy84
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

look for galaxy S4/Note 2. Note 2 has big screen and VERY good battery life. you can find plenty used for 250 and under if you look in kijiji. no FM radio but they are good phones.

IWIK
Town Hero / Héro de la Ville
Yes the Q10, Z30, PassPort, and I believe that the Classic also has built in FM radio.

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité