cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Move from bell to public before or after activating a new phone?

Rob101
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Howdy. I plan to move from bell to public and I also plan to upgrade from an SE1 to a refurbished SE3. Also I have no experience doing any of this! Yes an old guy! 
Should I get my phone first or change providers first? 
How do I transfer my phone number and contacts ?

Should I just switch SIM cards or get a new one?

Step by step would be great! Don’t skip any common sense steps !
thanks 

8 REPLIES 8

Rob101

I meant keep my bell account !

Rob101

I think I will keep the public mobile account and simply change phones first to make sure it works fine. To change phones do I simply take the SIM card from my SE1 and put it in my SE2 or is there more to it than that?

@Koko08 

Yes they are but when my friend ported over from Fido. He still had questions. I see the problem that the PM app are very small to read and he also need to read every single question carefully. He just skimmed through the questions. Also, he need to update his reading glasses.

@Rob101 wrote:

Howdy. I plan to move from bell to public and I also plan to upgrade from an SE1 to a refurbished SE3. Also I have no experience doing any of this! Yes an old guy! 
Should I get my phone first or change providers first? 
How do I transfer my phone number and contacts ?

Should I just switch SIM cards or get a new one?

Step by step would be great! Don’t skip any common sense steps !

Before doing anything, it's important to check that the number can be ported to Public Mobile.  Most numbers are fine, but there are some regions that can't have those phone numbers ported to Public.

Koko08

These are the exact steps that I followed when porting over from Rogers and it was completely seamless for me!

BKNS27
Mayor / Maire

@Rob101