cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data usage when cellular data is turned off

acdcmj
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi. I am new to Public Mobile. I activated a SIM card on Sept 26. The last 2 nights I have had a data event show up on my usage. My cellular data was turned off at the time this usage happened but my usage shows web usage. This used up over 20 MB of my data for the month. Can someone please help me & tell me why this is happening?  All my apps are turned off for data usage. 

B09C12C6-12F0-4DEE-9256-61DB67546F24.jpeg

FB3741F7-8A36-41FB-A179-FC4C34BE6166.jpeg

20 REPLIES 20

@acdcmj 

OS is your operating system or iOS for an iPhone. I am an Android user so I am not sure of the exact terminology for your phone. So yes your phone will use tiny amounts of data every time you turn on mobile data. While MMS does not count towards your data allowance because it goes thru a separate server your phone will connect thru mobile data.

Presumably it does the same thru the MMS server when no regular mobile data is available. If over the course of 30 days this adds up significantly then you may want to investigate it further but if you are worried about overages then as stated by @Anonymous that is of no concern with pm.

Anonymous
Not applicable

@acdcmj 

at public mobile Prepaid Service No fees extra charges,

for more information about Managing Your Data Usage visit  Here link to save your data...

acdcmj

I have MMS enabled. If I don’t turn my data on, then I can’t send MMS. 

acdcmj

I’m not sure what the OS app is? Is that the “system services”?

Anonymous
Not applicable