cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I know what games I can run on my laptop?

sahands
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

I started playing Halo 2 as an example, my specs:

i5-3317U @1.7GHz

RAM 6GB

Intel HD Graphics 4000 

Video RAM 32MB

Do not meet the minimum requirments, yet the game runs smoothly on it's highest graphic settings, so how do I really know what games I can play on my laptop?

Halo 2 System Requirements (minimum)

• CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 960T / Intel Core i3-550
  • CPU SPEED: Info
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • VIDEO CARD: AMD Radeon HD 6850 ; NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450
  • PIXEL SHADERS: 5.0
  • VERTEX SHADERS: 5.0
  • 3D: Yes
  • SOUND CARD: Yes
  • CD-ROM: Yes
  • DVD-ROM: Yes
  • FREE DISK SPACE: 20 GB
  • DEDICATED VIDEO RAM: 512 MB
  • TOTAL VIDEO RAM: 128 MB

Halo 2 Recommended Requirements

• CPU: AMD FX-4100 / Intel Core i7-870
  • CPU SPEED: Info
  • RAM: 8 GB
  • VIDEO CARD: AMD Radeon R7 360 ; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 TI
  • PIXEL SHADERS: 5.0
  • VERTEX SHADERS: 5.0
  • 3D: Yes
  • HARDWARE T&L: Yes
  • SOUND CARD: Yes
  • CD-ROM: Yes
  • DVD-ROM: Yes
  • FREE DISK SPACE: 20 GB
  • DEDICATED VIDEO RAM: 1536 MB
  • TOTAL VIDEO RAM: 256 MB
8 REPLIES 8

oscarraven
New in Town / Nouveau en Ville

You have a pretty weak laptop, you probably can only run low graphic indie games. Before downloading the games just check if your specifications meet the recommended or at least the minimum requirements of the game. 

gpixel
Mayor / Maire

@sahands

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-HD-Graphics-4000.69168.0.html

*scroll down to see results

this should give you a good reference on what you can expect to play and what frame rates you can achieve

also take into account they may have used a more powerful processor when benchmarking