cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

scam call received

wonderfulme
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi everyone, I'm new to Canada and to public mobile. I just received my sim card and activated the number yesterday. and today I received a scam call!!!! the scammer described the whole thing vividly and it freaks me out!!!! I cannot accept this! Is it possible to claim client compensation against public mobile? I actually do not want to use it anymore.

18 REPLIES 18

Community_QA
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@wonderfulme wrote:

how could someone receive a scam call right after activating a phone number? I spent hours dealing with the scammer and trying to figure out where went wrong! I'm so disappointed with public mobile. you're not me. you won't get it.

you got new number? the number is new to used to old to scammers

also scammers just send to all numbers. Their system can  make 100 calls a minutes, they don't care the line is new or old

What was the scam exactly was any money or info exchanged? 

@wonderfulme wrote:

thanks...

such a warm welcome from the scammer! hahaha

Did the scammer say they were from Public Mobile?

I am happy to help, but I am not a Customer Support Agent please do not include any personal info in a message to me. Click HERE to create a trouble ticket through SIMon the Chatbot *

wonderfulme

thanks...

such a warm welcome from the scammer! hahaha

wonderfulme

thanks! this is helpful

@CountyDownIeUk wrote:

Turn your DND on to accept calls “only if” you have the number in your contacts. 

Tune up your contacts. 

@wonderfulme to add to @CountyDownIeUk 's post, if you only set your phone/contacts app to set to only accept calls from contacts only, those who are not in your contacts will still go to your voicemail. So anyone who wants to get in contact you will leave a message.

wonderfulme

thanks guys...

i got it...