cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[RANT] Troubleshooting steps recommended for APN by moderators is wrong.

jice73
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Warning, this is a rant.  It probably won't be productive, so if you have better things to read, please don't waste your time.

TLDR; Use the APN settings found in this Knowledge Base article, and go from there.  I really hope the moderators here stop using that other site to troubleshoot data issues for Android.

I am unsure if the moderator I dealt with is doing things their way, or this is the way it's done here.  If it's the latter, hopefully this helps correct it.  I am not naming names, or posting with the account I had the issue with.

After going through some "tech support" last night with one of the moderators, I am writing this to save anyone else some grief.  This pertains to Android devices only, and setting the APN up.  I have no knowledge of iPhone, BlackBerry, or anything else non-Android.

I was instructed to set my APN settings to what is listed at APN Changer.  So where do I even start?  Let's see:

• Sending a customer to a third party site looks really unprofessional.
  • The Knowledge Base has an article that already covers this, with different settings.  Perhaps the article should be updated?  By the way, there is no "MMSC Proxy.  It's "MMS Proxy".