cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting An Old Number To My Public Mobile

GlennyJ
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hi There,
I am new to Public Mobile. I can call out from my new Public Mobile account (attached to a phone I own, which did not have service prior to having it hooked up to Public Mobile). Oddly I can text the ONE PERSON who I texted, when I had my Public Mobile generated number. You see, after getting my Public Mobile account and number, I went online and semi-successfully ported my old Rogers number to my Public Mobile account. The Rogers number was NOT active for some time, and it probably should NOT have ported, but, it kind of did. I just purchased a Public Mobile SIM on Saturday April 10th. However, now, with my old Rogers Number on my Public Mobile phone, I cannot send or recieve texts. I cannot take incoming calls on my Public Mobile, either. I can call out. And, when I call out, people see my old Rogers number that I ported from Rogers using the Public Mobile website. So, in synopsis, in my opinion, my phone number is 'partially ported'. My phone has 1 of the 4 capabilities I am paying for. I can call out, but that is it. I called Rogers and they said my old number is NO LONGER ON THEIR SYSTEM. Does anyone know how to help me get my account and my phone fully functional. Thank you! 
Sincerely,
Glenn

12 REPLIES 12

Nezgar
Mayor / Maire

@GlennyJ wrote:

Hi There,
I am new to Public Mobile. ...after getting my Public Mobile account and number, I went online and semi-successfully ported my old Rogers number to my Public Mobile account. The Rogers number was NOT active for some time, and it probably should NOT have ported

Indeed the port would definitely have failed since the Rogers account was not active. At this time, as you observed, your outgoing calls will send the Rogers number for caller ID, but since the number has not been ported, incoming calls are still being sent to the inactive number at Rogers.