cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to stop private number harassing you?

charrona
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin
Hey all,

For the past month I've had a "private number" call me between 1 and 4 times a day. When I pick up there is just silence. I don't think it's a robot because the time before they hang up isn't consistent, sometimes right away, others they wait 20-30 seconds like they're trying to talk to me and I can't hear them.

I thought it was because I didn't have long distance, so I bought the long distance addon and it didnt help. *69 said I couldn't call long distance before, and now it just says it's unavailable.

I heard of an app called trapcall that will tell you the number, but the app store says "not available on your provider".

It's very annoying and I don't want to block all private numbers in case it's something important. I do not want to change my number as I have been using the same one for 16 years.

Any ideas on what I can do? Can public mobile provide the number somehow?
21 REPLIES 21

@LurganIeUk wrote:

😀ok. But now my mother-in-law won a prize on a cruise as they were all asked who was married for over 65 years. She put her hand up and won!  But they did not ask if she was married to the same person. 

LOL @LurganIeUk  so, is that why you want to suspend your service for 5 days?  You and your wife are taking the free cruise?  Lucky duckies!

😀 ok. But now my mother-in-law won a prize on a cruise as they were all asked who was married for over 65 years. She put her hand up and won!  But they did not ask if she was married to the same person. 

@LurganIeUk wrote:

@kb_mv wrote:
That’s going to cause a lot of work and hassle and even though you can do every 30 days, it should be last resort.  I can see, for some professions, the option to change a number every 30 days is handy.