cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

keeping old number

newbie07
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I'm brand new to this and I;m just wondering if theres a fee associated with keeping your old number when switching to public mobile from another company.

9 REPLIES 9

Dunkgirl
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

@wetcoaster wrote:

@newbie07 wrote:

@Dunkgirl wrote:

@newbie07 wrote:

I'm brand new to this and I;m just wondering if theres a fee associated with keeping your old number when switching to public mobile from another company.

@newbie07There is no charge from public mobile to bring your old number. However, your old provider may charge you, this is rare but some companies, like voip numbers or companies that you have been with for a very short amount of time will charge you, this is to prevent you from joining them for a specific number then leaving (just to get there number) contact them to find out.

@Dunkgirl  Thats what I'm afraid of. When I switched from one company to another they offered for me to me able to keep my number then I when the bill came in there was a $30 charge for it. Smiley Frustrated

What providers are we talking about? Prepaid or postpaid? Are you sure that that is a porting fee and not an activation fee, which most postpaid providers charge?

@wetcoaster 

From what I have seem mostly VOIP numbers.

https://www.fongo.com/how-to-transfer-to-another-carrier/

Fongo Mobile and Fongo Works users will be charged a $25 port out fee unless…

• The account is over 90 days old
  • The number was ported to Fongo originally
  • You have made over $25 in purchases on the account

Comwave charges a $50 port out fee.

"Port Out Fee: