cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data used even without any apps used?

belisch
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hey guys,

I'm new with PM and got the $30 plan with 500Mb of data. I'm down from a 4Gb data plan and I'm now a bean counter! I deactivated all apps on my phone to use data (unless on the wifi), but looks like it still use data according to self-serve. Any idea why? About 5 Mb/day.

9 REPLIES 9

Anonymous
Not applicable

@withashout wrote:

If you turn off data, then you won't receive cellphone calls nor text messages, right?

Incorrect. Data is for internet and picture texting. You will otherwise get phone calls and texts (non-picture and assuming of course that you have a talk and text plan).

withashout

If you turn off data, then you won't receive cellphone calls nor text messages, right?

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@wetcoaster wrote:

But to answer this one: Your data connection needs to be on to send and receive MMS. However, sending and receiving MMS doesn't count towards your data allotment.

@wetcoaster I think the concern is around incidental data usage while having mobile data enabled for MMS.

@belisch have you considered using something other than MMS for sending pictures or group chatting with friends and family?  Something like WhatsApp or Facebook Messenger (or Skype, or Signal, or Slack, or Hangouts, or BBM, or WeChat, or Line, or probably like dozens more I'm forgetting) can be used 100% over WiFi without needing to turn on mobile data and will also give you better experience (less compressed multimedia sharing, if that's what you're doing, and/or way better group chats if that's what you're using MMS for).

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

Lol I second that ☝️🤔

@belisch wrote:

Will I be able to send MMS (pictures) even without the data enabled?

Why is this marked as the solution to the initial question? I don't get it...