cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rate of Data Usage

Distinctly
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Public Mobile.  I just switched three phone accounts over, and I logged into my PM account to notice that it was already showing almost 6MB of cellular data usage.  This isn't much data, and I'm not really concerned; however, I signed up for a 500MB data plan (per month), I'm on wifi, and I haven't actively used any cellular data.  My phone has used 1/5 of this amount for system services since inserting the SIM card, and no other cellular data has been used.

Can anyone tell me if they've noticed discrepancies between what your phone and your PM account page is showing?

Again, I'm not concerned at this point, but if the ratio of actual use to reported PM use stays the same, I'll run out of data at 20% of actual usage.

Thanks in advance!

D

8 REPLIES 8

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@marsbar that's normal; the usage history page only updates once a day for data usage.  However, if you look at the My Data and Add-Ons section of the Overview page, that figure is updated near-real-time.

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

marsbar
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

I've been noticing a 1-day lag between waht my phone will say vs what Public Mobile will say on the self-serve page but it does reconcile out eventually.

Clefort88
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

I agree with Mimmo. 

For the first day or two after activating or plan renewals, the usage fluctuations can be confusing. It definitely evens out; however I have definitely noticed it’s accurate. Even going through my phone and adding up all the current totals of listed apps, and system services, matching with its total, and then comparing to PM’s logging. All very accurate.