cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

travelling to the states

dystatic
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

hello!  i am going to the states in a few weeks and i have some questions about if/how my phone will work when i am down there, as well as about the add on plans that are available.  I have tried looking up some of this info, but i am still unclear.  Also, i just got my first cell phone this past november, so i am still kinda new to figuring out how everything works, so please keep that in mind!

ok, first of all, the plan i have now which has talk in my province + global text & data..  if i were to NOT get the add ons for the states, what i understand is that i would NOT be able to make any calls.  is that correct?

would i be able to recieve calls?  local calls from where i am in the states?  calls from people back home in canada?

what about texts?   would i be able to still send texts?  i am thinking not because there is an option to buy add ons for that..   .. what about recieving texts?  would i still recieve them without the add on?

and the data would not work.  but i could still get wifi if it was available.. 

ok..

now if i were to buy the additional add on options for the states..

i think the data and the texting is pretty straight forward, that i would be able to use the data and send and recieve texts right?

but i have questions about the phone option..

if i were to get that..  what sort of phone calls could i make?

when trying to look up information i came across some confusing information about travelling and the calls being related to where you live, so for instance if you travel to another province you can still make calls to your home province..  and, well, i dont know..

so if i were to get the add on for talk in the states, would it be to make local, in the states, calls?   or could i call to canada?  or would that be long distance?