cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iphone: cellular data on or off?

MelonFanta
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

hello!

i just recently switched over to public and this is my very first time having data on my plan.  i was wondering if i should turn, "cellular data", off, or keep it on?  i've never had data on my plan before, so i never had to worry about being charged for going over any sort of data limit.  with this new plan, i basically only want to use my data for emergencies, and seeing that i'm on wifi a vast majority of the time, i'm not sure if i should keep it on or not.  it's always been on as far as i can remember, i just don't want to start using the data on my plan for stuff that wifi should be doing.

thanks!

13 REPLIES 13

esjliv
Mayor / Maire

@MelonFanta  - I too, am mostly in wifi areas. But you never know when wifi signals will be weak or you forgot doing something out of a wifi zone, which will suck up data big time.

I am of the mind to leave data off at all times, unless I need it for some reason.

I understand iphones users like to use iMessage.

If you prefer to use iMessage, then you can perform the following steps to fix the issue:

1. Connect to the internet using WiFi or Data.
  2. Go to Settings > Messages and toggle iMessage OFF.
  3. Turn your iPhone off completely, then turn it back on.
  4. Go back into Settings > Messages and toggle iMessage ON.
  5. Make sure “Send as SMS” is also turned ON.

Since you are not a user that has never had data previously, why chance burning it, unless you need it? JMHO

Ge Help article on Managing Your Data Usage for reference:

https://www.publicmobile.ca/en/bc/get-help/articles/managing-your-data-usage

edit

MelonFanta

thank you so much, that's perfect!  pretty much everything i needed/wanted to know c:  thank you!

I'm the same as you...not a heavy data user.