cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using points to pay quarterly bill

BGKK5153
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello. With my current plan my 90 day renewal fee automatically uses all my loyalty credits etc. to pay part of the bill and the balance is charged as autopay to my banking account. No income taxes are charged for using my accumulated points. With the new points system can I continue to use all the points accumulated in  my account every 90 days as I'm doing now? Thank you.

Brain

24 REPLIES 24

pkaraa
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

Mr. Brain.. 

There is no Income tax but it is sales tax depends on province you are registered in.

MR-medeiros1992
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Exciting News 🙂 

Anonymous
Not applicable

@BGKK5153 : Yes thank you. Others piped in with that information. I suspect that disclaimer is directed at businesses and employees/employers thereof...not personal use redemptions. But I'm no tax lawyer. I would ignore tax implications at my personal level.

BGKK5153

Can you answer the question regarding if , like the current plan, the new points plan will allow autopay. Thank you

BGKK5153

From the terms and conditions listed " You will be
responsible for the reporting of any income tax benefits and the payment of any taxes arising from the redemption of Points for Rewards."

Anonymous
Not applicable

@anniemacdonald8 : Welcome to the Public Mobile Community. Great of you to jump and start participating.

So..sorta kinda almost just about 🙂

Whatever rewards you have will get paid into your account at renewal which would go towards your plan cost. Loyalty, autopay and referrals will get reset for the new term. Community will get reset to zero. The Community reward is based on monthly participation. It gets calculated and shown in your rewards area around about the 6th each month. Then after that it will get converted into Available Funds at your next renewal like the other rewards and reset to zero again.