cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transferring - Porting number problem

peterger
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I am brand new to PM and just signed up for 2 new accounts and everything was going perfectly until I tryed to transfer the second number from my telus share plan and hoping someone might be able to help resolve my problem. To summarize... I set up and activated both accounts with a new sim card and new phone number as it was the suggested way to do it with no issues. Once both phones were working I then began the transferring of the phone number on the 1st account... provided all details and voila, success! When I went to do the same thing with the 2nd account it said it was unable to transfer the number I entered. I then logged into my Telus account to find that my entire account was cancelled so I had no access to it. After a long chat with Telus they told me that Public Mobile had both numbers now and that they had neither one so I would have to contact Public Mobile. I dont know where the number has gone in cyberspace and dont know how PM would have it if it said it couldn't be transferred in the first place but I desperately need it transferred to this 2nd line as my husband has a severe medical condition and it is imperitive that he keep the same phone number for all of his medical contacts.

I did send a PM to @CS_Agent yesterday morning when this happened but yet to hear back from anyone and hoping someone here might be able to help. Thanks

15 REPLIES 15

angeliquem
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

I spoke too soon!

I was able to port my 3 numbers directly as I described but when it came to the last one, I received the error. Yikes.

@angeliquem wrote:

In the future and for those newcomers reading this thread, it's probably better to port your number directly rather than getting a new number then getting it switched with your old provider's number. That skips a whole step and it works faster most of the time.