cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Texting problem

mdalalonde
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

To send a text message to anyone it does not go through at first ,once I receive a text from any person then  I'm able to send texts to this recipient no problem, does anyone  else have the same problem ?I'm new to public mobile 2 ND day.

12 REPLIES 12

BEER
Town Hero / Héro de la Ville

@mdalalonde wrote:

To send a text message to anyone it does not go through at first ,once I receive a text from any person then  I'm able to send texts to this recipient no problem, does anyone  else have the same problem ?I'm new to public mobile 2 ND day.

If you'r using an iPhone check your settings. You may have enabled "Filter Unknown Senders". Also consider in addition to iMessage to also toggle on -Sends as SMS and MMS messaging.

@mdalalonde 

Do you,  by any chance,  have "chat" settings enabled under your message settings

Use SMS only,  no chat. 

Jb456
Mayor / Maire

@mdalalonde  ok an android. A few things to try.

Do you have chat features turned on? 

Screenshot_20220223-211343_Messages.jpg

If you do. Try turning it off then send a text. Chat features only work if other person has a phone with the feature n has it turned on as well. Likely not the problem though as the android should know that the person either doesn't have it or it's not turned on and then send it via regular SMS. But if it is turned on just try turning it off so we can take that out off possible causes.

Next. Try reseating the sim card. Power off phone, take out sim, put sim back in and reboot.

If that fails then try clearing your message cache.

5e8365822d41c1500657e5d7.jpeg

1. Launch the Settings app, then scroll down and tap "Apps."

2. Tap the "Messages" app.

3. Tap "Storage."

4. Tap "CLEAR CACHE 

Keep us posted.

mdalalonde

Thanks for the input anyways.

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@mdalalonde