cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SMS Gateway

Jyoung
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello Community,

I'm hoping someone can help. I am a PM user for a number of years. I am a volunteer firefighter and we use an alert system that sends a push notification as well as an sms to our phones. Recently, my phone has stopped receiving the sms messages.  The messages originate from a computer, so I use mytendigitphonenumber@msg.telus.com to receive them.  I had issues about a year ago, and these messages were being filtered in a spam filter.  I have reached out to another colleague who is with koodoo and also stopped receiving them, but another who is with bell has had no problems... Does anyone have an idea why?  Did the gateway change?   This is a pretty important part of our dispatching. 

Thanks for your help,

Jeff

10 REPLIES 10

Jyoung

After some back and forth with CS, it was resolved.(CS suggested that it was an issue on my end, but the issue was resolved without having to do everything they requested)  I was able to look into things on our end and see that the messages were being bounced by all telus servers. This bouncing was 100% limited to the address from the dispatching service. (I realized i could do this was after it was fixed)  I understand that it is an unsupported feature, but it is the only way for this app service to get messages to people who do not use smartphones/data, and for us to send inter-agency dispatches that are a bit quicker than email itself.  Either way, thank you all for your help and suggestions.  

Hi @Jyoung 

you need to let your dispatch service team aware that this is an old technology and no longer a supported features.  They should be aware that Rogers/Fido/Chatr are no longer offereing email to text service.  With Telus/Koodo/PM, it is an unsupported feature.  They will try to help, but they would not put an effort to fix it