cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone number

YuliiaFursa
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I am new to Canada and I bought a pay as you go sim card. The activation works well. With my new number I can call out to friends and family. But when friends and family call me a different lady answers. I think my number is crossed with another number.

7 REPLIES 7

@JL9 wrote:

Oh wow, how does that even happen. I couldn't even wrap my head how the system chooses who gets incoming and who gets outgoing, you think they would close that loophole - hopefully the new number works out much more smoothly for you!

HI @JL9  the system doesn't have to choose.  Incoming go to the original owner of the number

For outgoing, as long as you have a service with PM , you can always make outgoing calls regardless of the number.  That's why even  before porting was completed, you can make outgoing calls

JL9
Mayor / Maire

Oh wow, how does that even happen. I couldn't even wrap my head how the system chooses who gets incoming and who gets outgoing, you think they would close that loophole - hopefully the new number works out much more smoothly for you!

YuliiaFursa
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Thank you that worked

hTideGnow
Mayor / Maire

HI @YuliiaFursa   Yes, this is a common glitch here.  Not sure why PM try to give out currently assigned number.  This seems have not been a problem for sometimes and I thought they fixed it. 

So, just pick a new number using Change Number.  

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@YuliiaFursa 

Just log into your account and change your number. The other "lady" has precedence on the phone number "ownership" and you would eventually have your number changed by Public Mobile anyways. You can change numbers up to 4 times per 30 days.

Already in service numbers should never be available to be chosen by a new customer but for some reason telus has an issue with releasing active numbers into the available numbers pool.