cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get individual login and password for Self Served acc type.

pmuse
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi,

My older sibling got me into Public mobile and he set it up in a way that I have to use his login and password info to log into the Public Mobile phone app. I don't feel comfortable since I know he can view my calling history, etc. 

I was going to cancel my Public Mobile account and re-sign up with Public Mobile, but someone told me not to do so since doing so would deactivate my existing phone number (that I have been using for several years) and I will lose this phone number altogether!

So, I am wondering, how can I get my own login and password info and, how do I do so?

26 REPLIES 26

@Luddite wrote:

@HALIMACS  Validating a ticket for submission, is the only requirement to change username; and anything else as well (PIN for example).

Thanks @Luddite .    Makes sense - if the verification is successful, then PM's systems/Mod's would deem the 'customer' is making the request.

@HALIMACS  Validating a ticket for submission, is the only requirement to change username; and anything else as well (PIN for example).

>>> ALERT: I am not a CSA. Je ne suis pas un Agent du soutien à la clientèle.

Thanks @Luddite 

That is interesting - so all it takes is for someone else to know someone's username and password and they are then considered to be the account owner?

Surprised public mobile does not view the holder of the activated SIM card to be the account or service holder.

Having never changed a self-serve username, is it really that easy to do?

Does public mobile send, or attempt to send, an email to the original registered user to approve the change?