cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Activate SIM without a credit card

Yehudah
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi there, I'm new in Canada and don't have a Canadian or US credit card. I wanted to activate my public mobile sim card. How can I activate my PM sim without a Canadian credit card? I already bought the top-up voucher from Shopper. 

15 REPLIES 15

@Luddite   this was what I have been told.  Honest, you know address is not important, I guess some agent might ask but not critical.   Or they might ask just to randomly pick a number from the same province.    I will message CS agent again to confirm .  But maybe you can use your Oracle channel to ask for some official words as well.  Thanks

@softech  or anyone else. To accomplish activation with a voucher, do the agents request ONLY for your name, sim card number, and an email address? That sounds much easier than the online activation procedure. 😎

Good-Vibrations.jpg

>>> ALERT: I am not a CSA. Je ne suis pas un Agent du soutien à la clientèle.

Yehudah

@CountyDownIeUk thanks, I will be careful. 

Yehudah

@LitlLdy That's very kind of you! Canada is multicultural, people are polite and helpful. 

Yehudah

@softech a CS agent has already contacted me. Thank you again! 

CountyDownIeUk
Mayor / Maire

Buy a prepaid Vanilla (NOT My Vanilla) Mastercard and use it. A $25 card will cost $30. But make sure you get one from behind the counter of a reputable store. The ones on the rack in a store may have been tampered with and when you buy....you actually top up some one else's card. What the "theys" do is put their bar code on the one in the rack. Also another precaution.....see if the bar card will peel off...if yes...it's likely bogus. 

dust2dust
Mayor / Maire

@Yehudah- You can also use those visa gift cards that you can find just about anywhere gift cards are sold. (also often vouchers)