cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

5G data speeds too slow to use DoorDash on VolTE compatible iPhone

Witless101
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hi, I have a 2022 iPhone SE which i am using in courtenay BC, recently I’ve purchased the 30g for $45 plan and i am so freakin’ annoyed to find out that somehow this plan I’ve just bought has data speeds/connectivity that are actually inferior to what I was getting on Chatr after using up all my Chatr data. Even at 2 bars it will usually either fail to load a screen or something else. Since I am a doordash driver i need a stable data connection, and so now I just want to know whether I am able to fix this or if I can get a refund 

5 REPLIES 5

DennyCrane
Mayor / Maire

Chatr = Rogers & Public Mobile = Telus. Each network will have different coverage; each better in some areas where the other is not.

My simple solution would be to try and force your preferred network settings to 4G/LTE on your phone. I do that and find that I get a much more consistent experience. Just because you're on a 5G plan doesn't mean you have to use the 5G network. The 4G network is more mature, and you can still get greater than 4G 100Mbps speeds with your 5G plan.

Kristinab
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I have the same plan and I haven’t had too many issues with the service while doing Doordash, or any courier apps. I do find your apps need to be updated regularly and your phone as well. Also it depends on the area you are in. In certain areas I find the Doordash app always crashes or glitchs, but it does correct it self.

wetcoaster
Mayor / Maire

@Witless101 wrote: