Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3g shutdown versus 4g LTE

mellondon
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

E5B9CC3C-83D1-41B9-98AA-F6939B8A34A7.png

F140D1EA-9DEF-458A-BD33-1634E34028BC.png

 am I totally missing something here. Why is p/m telling me to pick a new plan as my 60 USA roaming plan will stop working by the end of the month. Seems to me it should be a flawless transition. 

21 REPLIES 21

mellondon

@hTideGnow  thanks. And no I don’t talk 24/7. Lol

mellondon

Exactly. I’m a long haul driver going to Indiana and I really need to communicate with my office etc. 

HI @darlicious   I thought OP wants to take the offer of $60 refund and change plan LoL

Yes @mellondon , using TextNow/Fongo on your PM roaming data will work.  Unless you talk 24/7  🙂

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@softech 

Think about it....many of the customers with this plan spent nearly two years not using their US services and kept their plan. Most customers will still keep it and use a workaround as long as customer support agents dont continue to spread misinformation.

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@mellondon 

Oops....go to the playstore and download the app.

darlicious
Mayor / Maire

@mellondon 

Just download either the textnow or fongo app. Register and choose a canadian number. Done. Textnow has better call quality but lots of ads and you have to use it more often to keep your phone number. I have both but tend to use fongo more often as I can just text with my pm plan. I use fongo mostly to check voicemail.

@hTideGnow 

The OP has US roaming data....fongo probably uses less data at 0.5mb/min.

@mellondon   I wonder if you should reply the message and push the CS Agent to escalate for senior staff

Or maybe Community manager can help?

Hi @J_PM , 

Hopefully you can shine some light here.  We got some "rumour" that VoLTE might be enabled for roaming (and Canada as well???) before late September.  Is that really in the work?