cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Thoughts on Imessage vs. Text

SusanC
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

So, I'm new to Public Mobile.  All is going well so far (I'm using an iPhone 6).  I go to the US a fair amount, but really only need to text, so the $8 add on will be fine, or so I thought.  Now, I am going to the US next month and was starting to think about this further, and most of my "texting" right now is actually imessage.  I don't believe it is easy to force it to go to sms instead and I think if I don't have data and someone sends me an imessage, they don't get a notice, I just don't get the message until I get into wifi range again.  Everyone I know has unlimited texting now.  I'm trying to decide if there is a real advantage to imessage or if I should be turning imessage off, deleting all old message histories, and trying to make everyone text me instead of sending imessages.  Any thoughts or ideas on this would be appreciated.  (I hope I'm not off side any rules posting this, I did try to search but mainly I could only find threads dealing with issues getting imessage activated or issues with texts not going through, etc.).

Thanks for any ideas.

8 REPLIES 8

ginaadrson
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

You can send a text message from iMessage. If you want to send text message from imessage, then you get help from this thread: https://www.howtoisolve.com/send-as-sms-instead-of-imessage-on-iphone/

@SusanC Check your dad's plan. If he does not have texting included then iMessage is restricted to data. If he does have texting, you need to ensure iMessage is associated with his phone number: Settings >> Messages >> Send & Receive >> set You can be reached by iMessage at  equal to "+1 his phone number".

If he has set iMessage to use his Apple ID then it will only work over wifi or cellular data.

>>> ALERT: I am not a CSA. Je ne suis pas un Agent du soutien à la clientèle.

Rockdaddy22
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité