cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scams

Celine1980
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Hi , I’m new to public mobile since April 3rd. I’m from New-Brunswick and I keep getting calls from the Moncton area. I block the numbers but they seem to still be able to call. Finally, I called one of the numbers today and they said it was a collection agency and asked for my phone number and told me that they were going to take my number off of the list, they didn’t ask questions. Also, if I look at my usage on the site, it shows that I call an Ontario number often but I really don’t and I live alone...has anyone had these problems ?.....thanks

14 REPLIES 14

dabr
Mayor / Maire

@skifan wrote:

@mpcdesign wrote:

Don't forget some telemarketers can spoof a phone number. For all you know, it could be your next-door cousin calling you down the street!! 

To make a point.....I have even received scam calls from my alternate reality self.....they spoofed my own number.  Let's just say that was an interesting conversation. 😁

Ditto 😊

skifan
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

@mpcdesign wrote:

Don't forget some telemarketers can spoof a phone number. For all you know, it could be your next-door cousin calling you down the street!! 

To make a point.....I have even received scam calls from my alternate reality self.....they spoofed my own number.  Let's just say that was an interesting conversation. 😁

@gpixel wow thats pretty cool!

kselmak
Mayor / Maire

@Celine1980 

There is a nice trick you can do with the suspected spam number, if you go into your call settings, then to call forwarding, you can change the declined calls to go to different number. This way if you actually suspect a number and decline call it will not go to your voicemail. If you put any USA number the forward will just fail and they will be disconnected without ever reaching anybody's voicemail

@Naepalm it's a feature from the Google pixel line of phones. watch this video