cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scam call

Pop1
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

I am quite new to PM so I hope I am asking this question in rather right place..

Got a call yesterday from 18259936763.

I answered it as (Public Mobile)was displayed and also the first six numbers(825993) of my PM number were shown.

A rather deep voice started to inform me that some fine was levied against my social insurance number.....at this point I ended the call.

Has anyone else been called by this number.

Keep safe everyone

Bob S

14 REPLIES 14

@iainc Thanks to Samsung's "Smart Call" app preinstalled on your phone:

https://www.samsung.com/global/galaxy/apps/smart-call/

Do it's settings default to sending Samsung your name and number too? Other apps like "TrueCaller" go as far as uploading your entire address book...

iainc
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Well it appears that some progress against spam calls. Received this warning today on my PM phone just over an hour ago.

Msg.jpg

Nezgar
Mayor / Maire

@Pop1  If you ever have a problem with blocked callers resulting in junk voicemail, you can prevent blocked callers from reaching your voicemail by setting the conditional call forward for blocked/declined calls to go to a dead-end. The caller would hear either a fast-busy or endless ring when on the block list, or when you manually decline an incoming call instead of the regular behaviour of being directed immediately to your voicemail. Makes your number appear even "more dead" in the spammers database... Unanswered calls and calls while your phone is off or out of the coverage area will continue to route to voicemail as usual.

To set, dial: *67#8080000000#

To unset, dial: ##67#

Pop1

#LurganleUk

Thankyou so much for taking time out to reply with the excellent info.

Thats a great help

Stay safe

Pop1

LurganIeUk
Mayor / Maire

@Pop1 wrote:

I am quite new to PM so I hope I am asking this question in rather right place..