cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incorrect Data Usage

vunnikri
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello,

I have activated my public mobile sim yesterday (23-Nov-2020) and it showed that I have used around 30MB of my data when I checked today (24-Nov). I have my phone on Wi-Fi the whole day and i switched it off to test the speed of my mobile data (on 24-Nov-2020, around 2:30PM)

Once the speedtest completed, I received a text message from Public Mobile that I have exceeded 75% of my data. I logged into my account and now see that it has used 775MB of data - see screenshot below.

publicmobile_data_usage.jpg

Do let me know how I might get hold of someone from PM support to discuss this further.

--- edit ---

Just want to clarify few things:

1. I'm aware that PM is 3G and I'm not expecting some super speeds. I did a speedtest to know what kind of speed I can expect in my area.

2. I've been using mobile data for many years and never had to worry about a simple speed-test wiping out all my mobile data. I'm not sure how many people have had this experience in the past!

3. I've been on multiple mobile networks (Freedom, Fido, Lucky, Rogers, Bell) and I've never seen this behavior before (i.e.) 500+MB of data depleted by a speedtest. 

Thanks,

- a confused new customer

16 REPLIES 16

vunnikri

@darlicious 

Yes, I did get the data and minutes. Thank you for pointing out the '@' as well. I was wondering why my reply structure looked off.

@vunnikri 

Did you get your free 500 min international calling minutes add on while you were there? If not its the same process. FYI....if you want to tag someone so that they know you are replying to them just tap the "@" key and a box will pop up with usernames to tap on or you can type in the name for it to pop up. Welcome to public mobile! ......and to the pm community!

vunnikri

Sounds great!