cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to disable voicemail?

plynndy
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi, I'm new with public mobile. I realized that voicemail was setup automatically, is there a way to disable voicemail?

14 REPLIES 14

barndoor
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@Anonymous 

I understand where you are coming from  but isn't it  about giving the choices that fit for the customer . Myself ...most of the time I hate voicemail ..a lot of times calls are time sensitive and a lot of people don't check them in a timely fashion so its better if the phone rings  a bit   till it gets answered .  Obviously that is not your preference and that is good .

This is the first company that I have been with that has not had an easily accessible option to disable the voicemail .

Anonymous
Not applicable

@plynndy : Thanks for the reply. hmm I wonder if the initial setup might only work with land lines or cellphones and not voip lines.

But they could certainly have changed it to not work that way anymore. It used to.

If you're fine with callers just ending in a busy signal then ok. Last I tried those methods I got errors.

Edit: I tried it. Yup. Fast busy. I still don't like it for the sake of legit callers wondering what's happened to your number. But if that's good for you then it's all good.

plynndy

@Anonymous 

I disabled it and after the normal dial tone, it just became a busy dial tone, which is totally fine. No error. Nobody really gets me on my phone anyways with my limited minutes...they're usually texting/emailing/whatsapping. So I'm ok with it.

I had not initially set up voicemail through my public mobile number and tried your suggested method -- reset voicemail password through self serve, then called from a google phone number. It just said to use my public phone number to setup my voicemail then hung up on me.

Anonymous
Not applicable