cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email to Text/SMS

polish_jr
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hello! First post and hopefully soon  to be Public Mobile user!

I am a real estate agent and depend heavily on my brokerage office's email to text service to get alerts and timely updates on my business. I am currently with Rogers and paying about 70-80 dollars and getting sick of being ripped off. I barely used over 500mbs of data a month so Public Mobile seems perfect for me! I'm going to be calling Rogers and fighting with retention to see how much they can drop my bill but I'm pretty certain they won't be able to come close to the PM price point. 

But this is the one last thing that is worrying me. I really need to be certain my office will be able to send me alerts via email to text! There's one other thread here about this but it seemed some people were having trouble so can I please get some kind of confirmation? Thanks!

Bonus noob question if anyone's read this far: Porting. I'm obviously need to port my number. The threads discussing this say it takes all but a few minutes. Having asked this of other providers in the past they said it could take up to a week or two.. is PM really going to port my number the same day I request it?

Thanks!

26 REPLIES 26

@texwood wrote:

I find the usage limiting though, as SMS is limited in 140 characters (including subject line) and most emails are much longer than that.  In addition, you cannot reply back. 

With email clients nowadays pretty much receiving emails almost immediately, in addition of messaging services such as Whatsapp, this option isn't as useful compared to flip phone days.

Still useful if you are needing to send a text message from a non-phone, e.g. a computer.

springtide
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

To update, my relative did finally receive my replies some 45, 77, and 128 minutes later, and only when I replied to texts sent to myphonenumber@mms.mb.telus.com