cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Developing an Android Application for acc mgmt

calfyn
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hey community,

So I'm a software developer, and I'm wondering if there would be any legal implications if I or myself and a group of devs decided to code and application to manage public mobile accounts. Can an employee, or mod shead some light on this. I would be willing/able to lend my time to the development of an application. I would prefer other devs to work with but well yeah.

Thanks in advanced

19 REPLIES 19

srlawren
Retired Oracle / Oracle Retraité

@calfyn How do you plan to get at the data?  To the best of my knowledge, PM does not have an API (or at least not one that's published) for interacting with their back-end account management system.  

Honestly, if you just want the self-serve site features but to act like an app, you may want to check out what @koimr1 was talking about, which I documented here:  https://productioncommunity.publicmobile.ca/t5/Phones-Hardware/Very-Partial-workaround-for-lack-of-P... It's not as sophisticated as a real dedicated app, but it also takes less than 5 mins to set up vs. writing an app and reverse-engineering interacting with PM's back-end and maintaining it if/when they make changes.

>>> ALERT: I am not a moderator. For account or activation assistance, please click here.

koimr1
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

@Effort wrote:

When I was with Chatr, I enjoyed the ability to check my data usage and how much data I have left. Android is sometimes glitchy and my OxygenOS rom will reset the total sometimes when I restart my phone.

Having a quick app to open and and I can see what remains is nice. If I were on the $10 plan, knowing how many minutes and texts left is also nice.

For something like displaying usage I think it'd be nice to be able to send a special SMS to PM and receive that back as a text message.

@ShawnC13 wrote:

@calfyn wrote: