cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Questions

Pash
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi, I'm new to PM.  In order to send picture and video messages I need the data turned on when I'm not around WIFI. My question is when I'm out and about without wifi and turn on my data to send messages with pics and videos, is this using my bonus data of 250 or is that for separate? Also, when I turn on data out and about how do I stop Google and other programs from using it up? I turned off refresh for apps but some are greyed out and I cant turn them off.  For example Firefox app is greyed out and many more programs greyed out.  For a long time now I haven't had data with my Koodo plan because I wasn't the one using it up.  My phone and google did.  I just came from Koodo prepaid and like I said I didn't order data.Im using my unlocked iPhone 6s Plus in case you can tell me a way to grey out these other programs.  Thanks Pash

10 REPLIES 10

GinYVR
Mayor / Maire

@PashIt will vary and depends on your expectation. eg MMS doesn't have full functionality of the "blue bubbles" so in fallback mode you won't be able to see people actively replying to you for example. You can see how much data the service actually use under Settings -> Cellular -> Cellular Services -> Messaging Service.. mine is under 30kb for the year.

Pash

Thank you. Glad to hear my bonus data won't be used for messages.  I will do as you all suggest to keep google and refresh programs from eating it up.  Thanks again

Pash

I will turn them on then.  So they will work when I'm away from wifi.  And, is data from my bonus 25o being used when I'm sending messages outside of wifi? Thanks

Anonymous
Not applicable

@Pash wrote:

Thanks but why carrier charges when I have unlimited text, video, and messaging??

There are no extra charges here.

You would want to turn off using cell data for most apps and OS on your phone.