cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Call Control to block spammers for PM

sahands
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen
14 REPLIES 14

HI @Cdnlass   All these requires sending the phone number (and possibly other info) to the third party server, privacy is an issue.   Use with caution

sahands
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

My current Google pixel phone comes with the "phone by Google" app which has spam protection built in, so far it's done ok, filters about 70% of spam calls.

Cdnlass
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I have had no issues and I have been using it for about 6 months. I'm pretty suspicious of things but I seem to have lucked out with this one.

HI @Cdnlass 

is the app safe?

Cdnlass
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

I use an app called Hiya that blocks unwanted calls from coming in. Its quite effective and its free on the app store. Don't know if that will help anyone but thought I'd put it out there 🙂

@helenhelen wrote:

What I now do to deal with the spammers is never pick up my phone for unknown numbers or if I am not expecting a call (I hate talking on the phone anyway so don't even like picking up for known callers!). I have an outgoing message on my voicemail that says I do not check voicemail and to try calling back (in which case I usually pick up if I get a second ring from the same # the same day) or text/email me instead (everyone that would call me has my email or can text me). I have my voicemail box closed so no one can leave messages. I have found this greatly reduced the # of spam calls I get since they never get an answer and I never have to go into my voicemail  to delete spam recordings...

My contact list is very up to date and any call with a number only means they are NOT a known person so I would be hesitant to answer.  Keep in mind blocked callers will go direct to voicemail. 

helenhelen
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle