cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

About to Activate

CoderAndrew
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

I would like to offer a member who would like to PM me their Phone number I will use them as my referral. Get some money off your bill.

First PM I get with a number gets the referral.

**Edit** I see the forums don't seem to have PM option. OK first response with a valid PM number

17 REPLIES 17

CoderAndrew

Hate to say it but I'm a programmer and could easily automate a system such as activation.

There are very simple business rules at play in their software, however even the simplest things fail such as having an account with the same email as Koodo.

Each record should have a unique identifier to avoid things like this in a database. As for credit card processing this is likely the result of poor code.

I've written plenty of payment processing code that can handle simple transactions quickly and efficiently.

If they have anything more than 1 coder working on their backend, then there's no excuse for not fixing this stuff in a timely fashion.

If I worked this slow at my job, I wouldn't have a job.

Martin
Legend
Legend
Hi,

They are finding the bugs, albeit not as quickly as some would hope.

I believe that the major problem, in general terms, is that the original servers (pre-Telus) were never programmed with the potential of full automation. Now that PM shares server space with Koodo, the challenge is how to fully automate a system, while, at the same time, carrying on business, hence Beta and its glitches.

Food for thought.

CoderAndrew

@Martin I will definitely hang in. I think in this stage of the beta they need on call support. Once they've ironed out more of the specifics then go to 2 day email support but for now you figure they would be trying hard to squash bugs.

Martin
Legend
Legend
Hi again,