cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I port over to Koodo?

cyhoiii
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hey guys,

I am pretty new at this, and I apologize if this had been asked already. I am currently with Public Mobile for the really old promo plan ($120/3mths for 12GB total), however now I am looking to switch over to Koodo as I am finding that an average of 4GB a month is not really enough. 

Could someone please explain the process on how to properly do a switch over to Koodo with my current phone number? My PM plan expires end of this month, so I figured it would be best to do the change now.

16 REPLIES 16

A Koodo SIM card will be needed so just calling may not get it done.

AE_Collector

Msalehi
Great Neighbour / Super Voisin

Just call Kodo and register for the plan. It will automatically will be transfered.

@AE_Collector 

That's what I was thinking.....theres no risk in trying the throttled speed since they are already a customer but if the new provider isn't all they say they are moving back to pm costs a sim card and the loss of accumulated rewards and any costs associated with changing to a new provider.

@maximum_gato 

Sounds as though @cyhoiii may have already left for greener pastures. Good idea with the 1 month test of 3G plan though, that would have been a good move since already working on PM. So many think that LTE speed is so important and will lead to a much better experience which is true if everything else is equal. I’m wondering if the move to 8Gb LTE for $50 is with Freedom which can very easily introduce a whole new load of frustrations quickly making 3G on a real provider look very appealing!

AE_Collector

@cyhoiii 

You've already mentioned koodo.....and  it never hurts to hear other members experiences with other providers. Curiously public mobile has a similarly priced plan do you only have autopay and loyalty rewards to lose? Still not willing to give pm's 4G LTE throttled data a 30 day trial?

cyhoiii