cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

unknown outgoing texts

serapub
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hi there, 

This is my first time to use PM. When I've activated SIM, I got two unknown outgoing texts, destination to the United Kingdom. It did not charge. 

Outgoing text    United Kingdom    447786209730    SMS 

Outgoing text    United Kingdom    447491163442    SMS

Is that OK? Why is there these texts? Anyone has ever met these issues?

Thanks

BTW, I have activated the SIM in the store. They don't sell me the SIM if I just wanna buy a SIM. So they did the ACTIVATE things and charged me 10$ of setup fee and I alse found these two stranges texts.

23 REPLIES 23

@88cranston wrote:

@serapub wrote:
get help and chat with SIMon told me:

set up fee
Great question. 👍 Guess what? At Public Mobile there's:
🚫 No activation fee
🚫 No porting fee
🚫 No unlocking fee
Just buy a SIM card, then a plan, and you're good to go!

No unlocking fee??

That's funny because they don't sell phones and carrier's in Canada can't charge to unlock.

88cranston
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@serapub wrote:

set up fee
🚫 No activation fee
🚫 No porting fee
🚫 No unlocking fee

No unlocking fee??

88cranston
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

@AE_Collector wrote:

@Korth wrote:

This phone/software "setup" is basically an involuntary 2FA... the manufacturer wants to track your phone number (and carrier, and region) each time a new SIM card activated or a factory reset done. 

Not certain what you are saying @Korth 

@what is 2FA?

Are you saying that if there is a $10 setup fee seperate from purchasing a $10 sim, it is something to do with this phone model and/or the two text messages?

AE_Collector

2 factor login. 

@serapub  Happy to hear you are feeling more positive. If you havent slready there isca couple of days left go enter the #PMPDA contest to win a year of free service. Check out announcements.

serapub

@darlicious wrote: