Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roaming vs long-distance

TP626
Good Citizen / Bon Citoyen

Hey,

I'm pretty new to the cell phone world so please be gentle. Smiley Tongue

I am unclear about the concept of roaming and long distance. Suppose that my "home location" is in City A and I travel to City B (which is normally a long distance call from City A.) If I call a neighbour in City A from City B, is that considered a "local" call (since it it so close to my "home location"?) or a long-distance call  (since the two cities are so far apart?

For context, I am on the $15 / 100 minute plan.

The reason why I ask is that I am now considering getting a second cell phone (the first is actually our new home phone, replacing our Bell landline phone.) If I travel to somewhere a few hours away from home, is it considered a local or long-distance call when I call back to my house?

I'm sure that this is a very trivial question that everybody who has used a cell phone a bunch knows ... but thatgroup of people doesn't include me! Smiley Wink

17 REPLIES 17

chukdefatey
Deputy Mayor / Adjoint au Maire

@ecowen wrote:

Thank you for this clear answer.  This is a question I've wondered about as well.  So, if you're out off your coverage area, eg the US,  a Public phone shouldn't work without a US add on?  I've heard of people getting into trouble and racking up huge roaming charges unknowingly as their phone has worked in foreign countries and roaming was automatic.  I assume this can't happen with Public.  Am I right?  

With Public Mobile & Lucky Mobile there are no Pay Per use or overages or Long distance or any sort of BS Charges what so ever.  If something is not included in your plan or an add on you have Purchased it simply just doesn't work.

@ecowenIf you are in the US, with Public Mobile you can receive text (for free). Other wise if you don't pay for US add on, you do'nt get US add on. No overages and roaming etc.

ecowen