cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RE: Visiting France

Mountainmaxman
Great Citizen / Super Citoyen

I am going to France next month and wondered if our phones will work there. I don't see any roaming add ons other then USA. Please help

7 REPLIES 7

88cranston
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

Also look at VoIP.ms and use an app called Zoiper. Check out what phone numbers that VoIP.ms will give you. Use with wifi or a cheap data plan as mentioned. 

Also do have heard most European plans have free incoming calls? Check them out before you leave. Also have seem SIMs sold in airports. 

SomeFriend
Model Citizen / Citoyen Modèle

Primary carriers in France are Free, SFR, Bouygues Telecom, and Orange.  I'll offer some advice on the carriers there instead since everyone already suggested to use VoIP apps and wifi.

I have no experience with any of them, aside from service and coverage (I was travelling in both UK and FR and EU roaming is free so I just used O2-UK because that's where I landed first), but I heard that Free is probably the cheapest (no experience at all as roaming on Free was the only network that wasn't permitted by O2) that you can find.  

Coverage is decent, all of them are alright, but if I had to choose the better one on coverage, would be Bouygues.  There's also coverage in RATP (subway), but some stations will result "No Service" or Edge (2G) coverage only.

Plans start at 2 Euros (Free is the cheapest but comes with almost no data).  I saw Bouygues has a visitor's plan for €39.90, but is quite expensive so just find some suitable prepaid SIM.  They might have MVNOs, not sure about them as I just visited for three days...

totalUser
Mayor / Maire

I heard france had ridiculously cheap plans, 15g of data with unlimited North America for 15 euros. Talk to family or friends who went there or go to forums where you can get advice.

just install fongo so people from canada can reach you.